

<u>SR Jindal Prize-2012</u>

Newsletter

Email:- info@sjfprize.org

Web:-www.sjfprize.org No. 5/2012

2751 nominations received for SR Jindal Prize-2012 (1971 in 2011 and 780 in 2012) in all seven categories were throughly scrutinized by the Screening Committee comprising Smt. Jaiwanti Sheokand as Chairperson, Ms. Amrita Nayak as a member and Shri S.C. Jain as Member Secretary of the Screening Committee shortlisted 39 nominations as per the rating marks obtained for placement before the Jury for selection of winners in each category. The Jury headed by Former Chief Justice of India, Justice Shri R.C. Lahoti and comprising Hon'ble Mr. Justice Ajit Prakash Shah, former Chief Justice, Delhi High Court as Vice Chairman, Sh. V.K. Shunglu, IAS (Retd.) former C&AG of India, Sh. Dhanendra Kumar, IAS (Retd.) former ED, World Bank and Chairman, Competition Commission of India; Sh. Naseem Ahmed, IAS (Retd.) former Vice Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University and Dr. Ved Pratap Vaidik, eminent Journalist as members and Sh. N.P. Gupta, IAS (Retd.) as Member Secretary has completed the selection of winners for SR Jindal Prize-2012 including one Honorary Award winner.

Further in addition to the existing categories of SR Jindal Prize-2012, the foundation has decided to institute one more category of "Freedom Fighters Prize" under which prize of Rs. 1 Crore will be awarded. This prize can be shared by a maximum of 10 persons. The criteria for selection of awardees under this category will be as follows:

- 1. Only living freedom fighters will be eligible for this Award.
- 2. The nominees should be above the age of 90 years. Relaxation of age can be given only in proven cases of participation in the freedom struggle before the nominee reached 25 years of age for which adequate proof should be provided by the nominator.
- 3. Preference will be given to the freedom fighters with low current income.

Nominations under this category has been sought for vide our advt. dated 07th Sep. 2012 in various newspapers. The last date for receipt of nominations for this category is 24th Sep. 2012.

The date for award ceremony will be announced shortly after finalization of "Freedom Fighters Award".

